The cast for the highly anticipated supervillain movie Suicide Squad has been confirmed.

Dallas Buyers Club star Jared Leto, Men In Black's Will Smith, Max Max star Tom Hardy, The Wolf of Wall Street's Margot Robbie, Divergent actor Jai Courtney and British model Cara Delevingne have all been confirmed for roles in the film.

The official cast list alongside their characters is:

Jared Leto – The Joker
Will Smith – Deadshot
Tom Hardy – Rick Flagg
Margot Robbie – Harley Quinn
Jai Courtney – Boomerang
Cara Delevingne – Enchantress

David Ayer (Fury, Training Day) will direct Suicide Squad, which follows a groups of supervillains who were organised by the US government to work together as a black ops team in exchange for redemption.

Warner Bros. president Grey Silverman said in a statement: "We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under David Ayer's amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero."

Suicide Squad will be released in August 2016 in the US.