One Direction were the big winners at the American Music Awards in Los Angeles on Sunday night, winning three awards, including Artist of the Year.

The boyband also won the awards for Best Pop/Rock Band, Duo or Group and Best Pop/Rock Album (Midnight Memories). 

Katy Perry was named Best Pop/Rock Female Artist and also won Single of the Year for Dark Horse featuring Juicy J and the Adult Contemporary award. 

Sam Smith won Best Pop/Rock Male Artist, with 5 Seconds of Summer named New Artist of the Year.

Iggy Azalea won Best Rap/Hip-Hop Artist and Best Rap/Hip-Hop album for The New Classic.

There were also two awards for Beyoncé: Best Soul/R&B Female Artist and Best Soul/R&B Album for her eponymous record. 

The Dick Clark Award of Excellence went to Taylor Swift.

The Winners:
Artist of the Year: One Direction

New Artist of the Year: 5 Seconds of Summer

Single of the Year: Katy Perry feat. Juicy J, Dark Horse

Pop/Rock Female Artist: Katy Perry

Pop/Rock Male Artist: Sam Smith

Pop/Rock Band, Duo or Group: One Direction

Pop/Rock Album: One Direction, Midnight Melodies

Country Female Artist: Carrie Underwood

Country Male Artist: Luke Bryan

Country Band, Duo or Group: Florida Georgia Line

Country Album: Brantley Gilbert, Just As I Am

Rap/Hip-Hop Artist: Iggy Azalea

Rap/Hip-Hop Album: Iggy Azalea, The New Classic

Soul/R&B Female Artist: Beyoncé

Soul/R&B Male Artist: John Legend

Soul/R&B Album: Beyoncé, Beyoncé

Latin Artist: Enrique Iglesias

Alternative Rock: Imagine Dragons

Adult Contemporary: Katy Perry

Contemporary Inspirational: Casting Crowns

Electronic Dance Music: Calvin Harris

Soundtrack: Frozen

Dick Clark Award of Excellence: Taylor Swift