Wicklow singer-songwriter Hozier is among the winners of the European Border Breaker Awards (EBBA).

His win was announced this week by the European Commission and the music conference and showcase festival Eurosonic Noorderslag, with John Newman and Milky Chance also among the honourees.

Most of the EBBA winners will appear at  the televised Awards show hosted by Jools Holland at Eurosonic, in Groningen, the Netherlands on January 14 next year.

The ceremony will be streamed live on YouTube and will be broadcast across Europe on television and radio.

One of the EBBA winners will also be honoured with the Public Choice Award. RTÉ 2fm listeners can find out more about voting and entering a competition for the chance to win a trip for two to the awards and Eurosonic at: www.rte.ie/2fm/eurosonic.

Kodaline won the Public Choice Award this year.

Ian Wilson, RTÉ Radio producer and founder-member of Eurosonic and EBBA, said: "2fm has supported EBBA from the start. We have helped James Vincent McMorrow, Kodaline and now Hozier onto the bill over the years, and for Ireland to have one of only eight emerging acts from a continent of nearly 800 million people is no mean feat.

"The EBBA awards are a natural follow-on for acts from the Eurosonic festival and another way for new talent from Ireland to reach a wider audience."