The annual PPI (Phonographic Performance Ireland) Radio Awards took place last night and 2fm's Nicky Byrne walked away with the Newcomer Award.

The event took place, once again, in Kilkenny's Lyrath Estate Hotel, with 35 awards handed out at the event which was hosted by comedian Barry Murphy.

Today FM was named as Full Service Station of the Year, FM104 won Music Station of the year and Radio Kerry were named Local Station of the year. See the full list of winners below.

The 2014 Hall of Fame inductees were presented with plaques to celebrate their induction and they are: Áine Lawlor: RTÉ Radio 1, Paul Claffey: Mid West Radio, Tony Fenton: Today FM and Walter Love: BBC Radio Ulster.

Full list of PPI Awards 2014 winners: 
Category A1 General Music Programme  - Dermot & Dave - 98fm Dermot Whelan and Dave Moore
Category A2 Specialist Music Programme - ALT-SKRATCH – The Community Games – Spin South West
Category A3 Breakfast Programme – Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show - Today FM   Ian Dempsey / Martin Maguire / Mario Rosenstock
Category A4 Music Special/Music Event - Take me to Church: Other Voices – RTÉ Radio 1 Cathal Murray
Category A5 New Irish Music/Musical Talent - Hear and Now presents The Producers - Cathal Funge for TXFM 105.2
Category B1 News Story - The Trauma of forced adoption – Brian O’Connell for Today with Sean O’Rourke - Brian O’Connell RTÉ Radio 1
Category B2 News Bulletin – 98fm News – 98fm
Category B3 News Programme - Death of Nelson Mandela- Morning Ireland – RTÉ Radio 1
Category B4 Current Affairs Programme – The Nolan Show - Stephen Nolan - BBC Radio Ulster
Category B5 Sports Story - The State of Irish Boxing – Is Paddy going PRO? – RTÉ Radio 1 Sunday Sport
Category B6 Sports Programme - Terrace Talk - Weeshie Fogarty – Radio Kerry
Category C1 Documentary - Call of the Dark – Michael Harding  - RTÉ Radio 1
Category C2 Music Documentary - Documentary on One – Michael Jackson’s Irish Driver - Ken Sweeney  for RTÉ  Radio 1
Category C3 Short Feature - Henry’s Baby – The Moncrieff Show - Newstalk 106-108fm  … Henry McKean / Sean Moncrieff
Category C4 Magazine Programme – The Late Lunch – LMFM – Gerry Kelly
Category C5 Drama - Lambo by Hugh Travers- Drama on One - Hugh Travers  RTÉ Radio 1
Category C6 Specialist Speech Programme - Futureproof – Northern Lights Special - Newstalk 106-108fm Jonathan McCrea and John Fahy
Category C7 Craoltóireacht le Gaeilge - Beezie Bean an Locha – Ursuline College with Ocean FM – Ocean FM
Category C8 Interactive Speech Programme - Liveline–The Brutal Murder our son Gavin - RTÉ Radio 1 Producer Siobhan Hough Presenter Joe Duffy
Category D1 Community/ Social Action - South East Radio’s “Dee Day” Heart Attack Awareness Campaign - Michael Sinnott - South East Radio
Category D2 On-Air Competition – iPaddy - Spin1038
Category D3 Station Imaging – FM104
Category D4 Entertainment Inserts - Gift Grub – The Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show – Today FM - Ian Dempsey & Mario Rosenstock
Category D5 Innovation - Henry’s Baby – The Moncrieff Show - Sean Moncrieff / Henry McKean Newstalk 106-108fm
Category E1 Music Presenter of the Year – Dermot Whelan – 98FM
Category E2  Radio DJ – Steve K - Spin 103.8
Category E3 Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year – Ralph McLean - BBC Radio Ulster
Category E4 News Broadcaster of the Year - Seamus McKee - BBC Radio Ulster
Category E5 News Reporter of the Year - Philip Boucher-Hayes - RTÉ Radio 1
Category E6 Sports Broadcaster of the Year - Joe Molloy - Newstalk 106-108fm
Category E7 Speech Broadcaster of the Year - Stephen Nolan  -BBC Radio Ulster
Category E8 Newcomer Award – Nicky Byrne – 2FM