Mrs Brown's Boys creator and star Brendan O'Carroll was the winner of the Best Comedic Performance award at the Royal Television Society Awards in London on Tuesday night.

O'Carroll had been nominated in the category alongside Rebecca Front for Psychobitches and Ryan Sampson for PLEBS.

The Cillian Murphy-starring Peaky Blinders won the award for Best Drama Series, beating My Mad Fat Diary and Utopia to the trophy.

Olivia Colman was named Best Actress for her performance in Broadchurch, with Idris Elba winning Best Actor for his work in Luther.

Broadchurch also won the award for Best Drama Serial, with Coronation Street winning the Best Soap and Continuing Drama award.

Other winners included: Game of Thrones (Best International Programme), Educating Yorkshire (Best Documentary Series), The Last Leg (Best Entertainment Programme), Alan Carr (Best Entertainment Performance) and Stephen Fry (Best Presenter for Stephen Fry: Out There).

Corrie's Katy Cavanagh, Antony Cotton & Brooke Vincent

Broadchurch actress Jodie Whittaker

The Winners:

Olivia Colman - Broadchurch

Idris Elba - Luther

Imagine...Vivian Maier: Who Took Nanny's Pictures

Children's Fiction
Dumping Ground

Children's Programme
Hard Times - A Newsround Special

Comedy Performance
Brendan O'Carroll - Mrs Brown's Boys

Four Rooms

Documentary Series
Educating Yorkshire

Drama Serial

Drama Series
Peaky Blinders

The Last Leg

Entertainment Performance
Alan Carr - Alan Carr: Chatty Man

Richard III: King in the Car Park

Game of Thrones

Live Event
The Ashes - 2013

Popular, Factual and Features

Stephen Fry - Stephen Fry: Out There

Science and Natural History

Scripted Comedy

Single Documentary
The Murder Trial

Single Drama
The Challenger

Soap and Continuing Drama
Coronation Street

Sports Presenter, Commentator or Pundit
Gary Neville - Sky Sports

Sports Programme
World Athletics - Mo Farah's Double Gold Win

Comedy Writer
James Corden, Mathew Baynton and Tom Basden - The Wrong Mans

Drama Writer
Marlon Smith and Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan - Run

Judges' Award
Janice Hadlow

Lifetime Achievement
David Suchet