12 Years a Slave star Michael Fassbender is among the nominees for the Independent Spirit Awards, with the film leading the shortlists with seven nominations.

Fassbender is nominated in the Supporting Male category for his performance in the film, with co-stars Chiwetel Ejiofor and Lupita Nyong'o and director Steve McQueen also nominated in other categories.

The winners will be announced on March 1, the night before the Oscars.

2014 Independent Spirit Awards Nominees:

12 Years a Slave
All Is Lost
Frances Ha
Inside Llewyn Davis

Shane Carruth - Upstream Color
JC Chandor - All Is Lost
Steve McQueen - 12 Years a Slave
Jeff Nichols - Mud
Alexander Payne - Nebraska

Woody Allen - Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater - Before Midnight
Nicole Holofcener - Enough Said
Scott Neustadter & Michael H Weber - The Spectacular Now
John Ridley - 12 Years a Slave

First Feature
Blue Caprice - Alexandre Moors - director/producer; Kim Jackson, Brian O'Carroll, Isen Robbins, Will Rowbotham, Ron Simons, Aimee Schoof, Stephen Tedeschi - producer

Concussion - Stacie Passon - director; Rose Troche - producer

Fruitvale Station - Ryan Coogler - director; Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker - producers

Una Noche - Lucy Mulloy - director - producer; Sandy Pérez Aguila, Maite Artieda, Daniel Mulloy, Yunior Santiago - producers

Wadjda - Haifaa Al Mansour - director; Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul - producer

First Screenplay
Lake Bell - In a World
Joseph Gordon-Levitt - Don Jon
Bob Nelson - Nebraska
Jill Soloway - Afternoon Delight
Michael Starrbury - The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
Computer Chess - Andrew Bujalski, writer/director
Crystal Fairy - Sebastiàn Silva, writer/director
Museum Hours - Jem Cohen, writer/director
Pit Stop - Yen Tan, writer/director; David Lowery, writer
This is Martin Bonner - Chad Hartigan, writer/director

Female Lead
Cate Blanchett - Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy - Before Midnight
Gaby Hoffmann - Crystal Fairy
Brie Larson - Short Term 12
Shailene Woodley - The Spectacular Now

Male Lead
Bruce Dern - Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor - 12 Years a Slave
Oscar Isaac - Inside Llewyn Davis
Michael B Jordan - Fruitvale Station
Matthew McConaughey - Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford - All Is Lost

Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz - Fruitvale Station
Sally Hawkins - Blue Jasmine
Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years a Slave
Yolonda Ross - Go For Sisters
June Squibb - Nebraska

Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender - 12 Years a Slave
Will Forte - Nebraska
James Gandolfini - Enough Said
Jared Leto - Dallas Buyers Club
Keith Stanfield - Short Term 12

Sean Bobbitt - 12 Years a Slave
Benoit Debie - Spring Breakers
Bruno Delbonnel - Inside Llewyn Davis
Frank G DeMarco - All Is Lost
Matthias Grunsky - Computer Chess

Shane Carruth & David Lowery - Upstream Color
Jem Cohen & Marc Vives - Museum Hours
Jennifer Lame - Frances Ha
Cindy Lee - Una Noche
Nat Sanders - Short Term 12

20 Feet From Stardom - Morgan Neville, director/producer; Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers, producers

After Tiller - Martha Shane & Lana Wilson, directors/producers

Gideon's Army - Dawn Porter, director/producer; Julie Goldman, producer

The Act of Killing - Joshua Oppenheimer, director/producer; Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo, producer

The Square - Jehane Noujaim, director, Karim Amer, producer

International Film
A Touch of Sin (China) - Jia Zhang-Ke, director
Blue Is the Warmest Color (France) - Abdellatif Kechiche, director
Gloria (Chile) - Sebastián Lelio, director
The Great Beauty (Italy) - Paolo Sorrentino, director
The Hunt (Denmark) - Thomas Vinterberg, director

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film.s director, casting director and its ensemble cast)
Director: Jeff Nichols
Casting Director: Francine Maisler
Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon

17th Piaget Producers Award
Toby Halbrooks & James M Johnston
Jacob Jaffke
Andrea Roa
Frederick Thornton

20th Someone to Watch Award
My Sister's Quinceañera - Aaron Douglas Johnston, director
Newlyweeds - Shaka King, director
The Foxy Merkins - Madeline Olnek, director

19th Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
Kalyanee Mam - A River Changes Course
Jason Osder - Let the Fire Burn
Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez - Manakamana