Breaking Bad won Program of the Year at the Television Critics Association Awards on Saturday.

AMC's acclaimed American television drama, set and produced in Albuquerque, New Mexico centres on Walter White (Bryan Cranston), a struggling high school chemistry teacher who is diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer and turns to a life of crime.

The award winners are selected by the 220 members of the Television Critics Association, who honour shows and performances not always celebrated by Emmy voters.

HBO's Game of Thrones was named Best Drama, while the Best Comedy award was shared by CBS' The Big Bang Theory and NBC's Parks and Recreation. FX's spy drama The Americans won the Outstanding New Program award.

The awards were presented at a non-televised ceremony hosted by Comedy Central's Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele.

The full list of TCA 2013 winners:

Individual Achievement in Drama: Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black, BBC America)

Individual Achievement in Comedy: Louis C.K. (Louie, FX)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: The Central Park Five (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: Shark Tank (ABC)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: Bunheads (ABC Family)

Outstanding New Program: The Americans (FX)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: Behind the Candelabra (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama: Game of Thrones (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: (Tie) The Big Bang Theory (CBS) and Parks and Recreation (NBC).

Career Achievement Award: Barbara Walters (ABC)

Heritage Award: All in the Family (CBS)

Program of the Year: Breaking Bad (AMC)

Co-creator Chuck Lorre accepted the Outstanding Achievement in Comedy award for The Big Bang Theory (CBS), which was a joint winner with Parks and Recreation (NBC).

Producer Mark Burne accepted the Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming award for Shark Tank (ABC).

Game of Thrones star Emilia Clarke took to the stage to accept the Outstanding Achievement in Drama award.

Actress Kaitlyn Jenkins took home an award for Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming for Bunheads (ABC Family).

Comedians Key & Peele - full names Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele - hosted the show.

Writer Norman Lear and writer/director Rob Reiner accepted the Heritage Award for All in the Family (CBS).