Irish writers Colum McCann, Donal Ryan and Colm Tóibín are among the 13 authors on the longlist for the 2013 Man Booker Prize.

McCann is longlisted for TransAtlantic, with Ryan and Tóibín on the list for The Spinning Heart and The Testament of Mary respectively.

Tóibín was previously shortlisted twice: for The Blackwater Lightship in 1999 and in 2004 for The Master.

The six-author 2013 shortlist will be announced on Tuesday September 10, with the winner announced on Tuesday October 15.

The 2013 Man Booker Prize Longlist
Tash Aw - Five Star Billionaire (Fourth Estate)

NoViolet Bulawayo - We Need New Names (Chatto & Windus)

Eleanor Catton - The Luminaries (Granta)

Jim Crace - Harvest (Picador)

Eve Harris - The Marrying of Chani Kaufman (Sandstone Press)

Richard House - The Kills (Picador)

Jhumpa Lahiri - The Lowland (Bloomsbury)

Alison MacLeod - Unexploded (Hamish Hamilton)

Colum McCann - TransAtlantic (Bloomsbury)

Charlotte Mendelson - Almost English (Mantle)

Ruth Ozeki - A Tale for the Time Being (Canongate)

Donal Ryan - The Spinning Heart (Lilliput Press and Doubleday Ireland)

Colm Tóibín - The Testament of Mary (Viking)