The mentors for Eurosong 2013 have been announced.

Five new mentors have been appointed, representing different backgrounds in the entertainment industry in Ireland.

In the coming weeks they will source songs and singers who, in their view, will compete to best represent the country.

The mentors line-up is radio and TV presenter Mairéad Farrell, writer and performer Shay Healy, radio DJ and producer Mark McCabe, songwriter Niall Mooney and producer Stuart O'Connor.

Details on the five acts and songs will be announced in the New Year, and the mentors' five chosen songs will be performed for the first time by their acts on The Late Late Show Eurosong 2013 on Friday February 22, 2013.

The winner will once again be decided by a combination of public vote and regional jury.

Commenting, RTÉ Eurovision Co-ordinator Michael Kealy said: "The five mentors this year represent a wide range of experience and talent from the world of music and show business and I believe the songs and acts they choose will deliver a very exciting and competitive Eurosong final in February.”