Former X Factor judge Cheryl Cole makes her highly anticipated return to the singing competition and we reveal the tracks the Top 25 acts will perform tonight

It’s been two years since she sensationally quit the UK version of The X Factor and headed off to the bright lights of LA for, what was meant to be, the start of a glittering career in the US. Well, we all know how that turned out and now Cheryl has decided to return to the show that made her into a household name.

Tonight she joins Gary Barlow as a guest mentor, helping him put his acts from the older "overs" category through their paces during the judges' houses stage of the talent show.

Cole, who was given her big break on Popstars: The Rivals, tells The X Factor hopefuls she can sympathise because she has been in their position.

The Girls Aloud star says: “I've been there and I have been here so I know how you are all feeling, I am just excited to see what you have got. [I] think it's going to be amazing and I wish you the best of luck from the bottom of my heart".

Other guest mentors include Tinie Tempah, who teams up with Tulisa Contostavlos in St. Lucia, Ne-Yo who accompanies Nicole Scherzinger in Dubai and Sharon Osbourne who is the sidekick to Louis Walsh in Las Vegas.

Here are the tracks each of the contestants will perform:

James Arthur - 'I Can't Make You Love Me' by Bonnie Raitt
Nathan Fagan-Gayle - 'Beautiful Monster' by Ne-Yo
Adam Burridge - 'SOS' by Abba
Jake Quickenden - 'Back for Good' by Take That
Rylan Clark - 'We Found Love' by Rihanna
Jahmene Douglas - 'Titanium' by David Guetta

Times Red - 'Ain't No Sunshine'/'Let's Get It Started'
Mitsotu - 'Hey Ya' by Outkast
MK1 - 'Just Be Good To Me' by Professor Green
Union J - 'Call Me Maybe' by Carly Rae Jepsen
Poisonous Twin - 'Freak Like Me' by Sugababes
Duke - 'The Way You Make Me Feel' by Michael Jackson
GMD3 - 'Bless the Broken Road' by Rascal Flatts

Jade Ellis - 'Stand By Me' by Ben E King
Amy Mottram - 'Read All About It' by Emeli Sandé
Leanne Robinson - 'Hurt' by Christina Aquilera
Jade Collins - 'It Must Have Been Love' by Roxette
Lucy Spraggan - 'I Will Always Love You' by Whitney Houston
Ella Henderson - 'I Won't Give Up' by Jason Mraz

Carolynne Poole - 'When You Say Nothing At All' by Ronan Keating
Nicola Marie - 'Tragedy' by Steps
Brad Shackleton - 'The Final Countdown' by Europe
Melanie Masson - 'Everytime You Go Away' by Paul Young
Kye Sones - 'Payphone' by Maroon 5
Chris Maloney - 'All Out of Love' by Jagged Edge