Two Door Cinema Club were announced as the winners of the 2010 Choice Music Prize for Irish Album of the Year in Dublin's Vicar Street last night - and plan to donate their €10,000 prize money to charity.

The band's debut, 'Tourist History', saw off the challenge of Adebesi Shank, The Cast of Cheers, Cathy Davey, Fight Like Apes, Halves, Imelda May, James Vincent McMorrow, O Emperor and Villagers to win the award.

Following the announcement of their win, singer Alex Trimble told the Vicar Street crowd: "This is amazing, we have never won anything ever. We would like to thank our friends and family and our management who have been with us since the very start."

The €10,000 prize money was provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

Two Door Cinema Club also received a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists and Performers Ltd (RAAP).

Previous winners of the Choice Music Prize include Adrian Crowley, Jape, Super Extra Bonus Party, The Divine Comedy and Julie Feeney.