The Irish Film & Television Awards took place in Dublin last night with the series 'The Tudors', the Irish-language film 'Kings' and 'Garage' the big winners at the ceremony.

Watch Sinéad Crowley's report on the IFTAs here.

Seven IFTAs for 'The Tudors'

'The Tudors' was named Best Drama Series/Soap and also dominated the TV acting and technical categories.

The series' star, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, was named Best Actor in a Television Series while his co-stars, Maria Doyle Kennedy and Nick Dunning, won the Best Supporting Actress and Actor in Television awards respectively.

In the technical categories, 'The Tudors' won the Best Costume (Joan Bergin), Best Hair & Make-Up (Jennifer Hegarty, Dee Corcoran) and Best Production Design (Tom Conroy) awards.

'Kings' wins five awards

'Kings' star Brendan Conroy was named Best Supporting Actor in Film and the Tom Collins-directed drama also won the Special Irish Language Award. 

In other categories 'Kings' won the awards for Best Editing (Dermot Diskin), Best Sound (Ken Galvin, Ronan Hill, Dominic Weaver) and Best Original Score (Pol Brennan).

Great night for 'Garage'

There were four awards for 'Garage', including three of the most high profile awards.

The Lenny Abrahamson-directed film, which was part financed by RTÉ, was named Best Film and its star, Pat Shortt, was named Best Actor in a Lead Role.

Abrahamson won the Best Director Film award and 'Garage's writer, Mark O'Halloran, won the Best Script for Film award.

Abrahamson and O'Halloran also had success in the TV categories, winning the Best Director for Television and Best Script for Television awards for 'Prosperity'.

Two Awards for Saoirse Ronan

The Irish Film Board Rising Star Award was won by 'Atonement' star Saoirse Ronan; the teenager also won the Best Supporting Actress award for her performance in the film.

International Film Awards

'The Lives of Others' was named Best International Film with Daniel Day-Lewis winning Best International Actor for his performance in 'There Will Be Blood'.

Hilary Swank won the Best International Actress award for 'PS I Love You'.

Mel Gibson received the Outstanding Contribution to World Cinema award.

The Best Director of Photography award went to Séamus McGarvey for his work on 'Atonement'.

Awards for 'The Clinic' and 'The Running Mate'

Aisling O'Sullivan won the Best Actress Film/Television for her work on 'The Clinic'.

'The Running Mate' won the Best Single Drama/Serial award.

RTÉ's Kathryn Thomas and Podge and Rodge among winners

'No Frontiers' presenter Kathryn Thomas won the Television Personality of the Year award.

'The Podge and Rodge Show' won the Best Entertainment award.


The Best Single Documentary award went to 'At Home with the Clerys' while 'The Hospice' was named Best Documentary Series. 

Shorts, Animation and Youth programmes

'New Boy' was named Best Short Film while 'Skunk Fu!' won the Best Animation Award. 'Aifric' was named the Best Children/Youth Programme.

Sports and News

'Tall, Dark & Ó hÁilpín' was named Best Sports Programme and the Best Factual Entertainment award went to 'Diarmuid's Pony Kids'.

BBC Newsline won the Best News award and the Best Current Affairs award went to 'Prime Time Investigates' for the programme 'Not Seen, Not Heard'.

Check out all the red carpet style from the IFTAs in our photo gallery here.

To watch last night's IFTAs show click here.