The Meteor Irish Music Awards were held in Dublin on Friday night, with 19 awards presented at the star-studded ceremony.

Westlife were named Best Irish Pop Act for the eighth year in succession with Cathy Davey winning the award for Best Irish Female and Duke Special the award for Best Irish Male.

Amy Winehouse won the Best International Female award with Bruce Springsteen named Best International Male.

Radiohead took the Best International Band award.

Arcade Fire's 'Neon Bible' was named Best International Album.

The award for Best Irish Album went to Paddy Casey for 'Addicted to Company Pt 1' while Sharon Shannon and Mundy won the Most Downloaded Song award for their collaboration 'Galway Girl'.

Aslan were named Best Irish Band while Damien Dempsey was the winner in the Best Folk/Traditional category.

The award for Best Irish Live Performance went to The Blizzards for their set at Oxegen last year with Muse winning the Best International Live Performance award for their set at the same festival.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to The Saw Doctors while the Hope for 2008 award, which is voted on by RTÉ 2fm listeners, was presented to Ham Sandwich.

Today FM presenter Ray Foley won the award for Best National DJ and Red FM's Keith Cunningham was named Best Regional DJ.

The late concert promoter Jim Aiken was posthumously honoured with the Industry Award.

The Humanitarian Award went to Rose Donohoe, founder of the Rose Foundation, who received a cheque for €100,000 for the charity.

Among those who performed on the night were Westlife, Boyzone, The Saw Doctors, Cathy Davey, Gary Lightbody and Lisa Hanningan, who performed 'Some Surprise' from 'The Cake Sale' album, and Sinead O'Connor and Republic of Loose, who performed a duet.

Among those in attendance on the night were actors Stuart Townsend, Charlize Theron and Patrick Bergin.