The nominations for the 17th Bisto Book of the Year Awards have been announced, with 10 authors shortlisted for the most prestigious awards for children's books in Ireland.

Four-time winner Kate Thompson, who won the overall award last year, is shortlisted for her new book 'The Fourth Horseman'.

Also on the shortlist are: John Boyne ('The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas'), Eoin Colfer ('Artemis Fowl and the Lost Colony'), Oliver Jeffers ('The Incredible Book Eating Boy') and Siobhán Parkinson ('Something Invisible').

Jon Berkeley ('The Palace of Laughter'), Siobhan Dowd ('A Swift Pure Cry'), PJ Lynch ('A Christmas Carol'), Éilís Ní Dhuibhne ('Hurlamaboc') and Colmán Ó Raghallaigh ('An Táin') complete the shortlist.

Both Boyne and Jeffers are also shortlisted for the British Book Awards.

The winner of the Bisto Book of the Year will receive €10,000 with the remaining €9,000 of the prize fund divided between the winner of the Eilís Dillon Award, for a first-time children's author, and the three recipients of the Bisto Honour Awards.

The awards ceremony takes place on Wednesday 16 May in Dublin.