The 10 nominees have been announced for the inaugural Choice Music Prize, a new award which recognises the Best Irish Album of the Year.

The shortlist has been chosen by a panel of 12 media professionals representing Irish print, radio and TV.

The 10 nominees are:
Bell X1 - 'Flock'
Cane 141 - 'Moonpool'
The Chalets - 'Check-In'
Joe Chester - 'A Murder of Crows'
Duke Special - 'Adventures In Gramophone'
Julie Feeney  - '13 Songs'
Hal - 'Hal'
Nick Kelly - 'Running Dog'
Emmett Tinley - 'Attic Faith'
Turn - 'Turn'

The winner, as chosen by the panel, will be announced at the Choice Music Prize show in Vicar Street in Dublin on Tuesday 28 February.

The winner will receive €10,000, a specially-commissioned award and a full advertising campaign from Today FM.

Tickets for the award show will go on sale on Monday 16 January from usual outlets, priced €25.