The nominations for the 2006 Meteor Ireland Music Awards have been announced, with U2 nominated in three categories.

The quartet are nominated in the Best Irish Band and Best Irish Album categories, while their Croke Park gigs have made the Best Live Performance shortlist.

17 Meteor Ireland Music Awards will be presented in February, with public voting in six categories - Best Irish DJ, Best Irish Band, Best Irish Male, Best Irish Female, Best Irish Pop Act, Best Live Performance – and RTÉ 2fm listeners choosing who wins the Hope for 2006 award.

Joining U2 on the Best Irish Band shortlist are: BellX1, The Chalets, The Corrs, Hal and Turn.

Along with U2's 'How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb', Bell X1's 'Flock', Dave Couse and the Impossible's 'The World Should Know', Damien Dempsey's 'Shots', the Frank and Walters' 'Souvenirs' and Turn's 'Turn' are shortlisted for Best Irish Album.

Joe Chester, Dave Couse, Damien Dempsey, Tommy Fleming, Christy Moore and John Spillane are nominated for the Best Irish Male Award.

Mary Black, Gemma Hayes, Róisín Murphy, Sinéad O'Connor, Sharon Shannon and Claire Sproule make up the Best Irish Female award shortlist.

Coldplay's Marlay Park gig, The Flaming Lips at the Electric Picnic, Green Day at OXEGEN, Elton John at the RDS and Scissor Sisters at Lansdowne Road join U2 on the shortlist for Best Live Performance.

The Conway Sisters, Ronan Keating, Brian McFadden, Tabby, Westlife and Zoo are the nominees for Best Irish Pop Act.

8 Ball, Humanzi, Leya, Red Organ Serpent Sound, The Immediate and Delorentos are the nominees for Best New Irish Act.

Antony and the Johnsons' Mercury-winning 'I Am a Bird Now' is shortlisted for Best International Album, along with albums by The Arcade Fire ('Funeral'), Coldplay ('X&Y'), Depeche Mode ('Playing the Angel'), The Kaiser Chiefs ('Employment') and Mylo ('Destroy Rock and Roll').

The Best International Male award will be contested by Beck, Jamie Cullum, David Gray, Jack Johnson, Rufus Wainwright and Kayne West.

The six nominees for the Best International Female award are:
Tracy Chapman, Kelly Clarkson, Alicia Keys, Katie Melua, Gwen Stefani and KT Tunstall.

The Arcade Fire, Franz Ferdinand, Gorillaz, Kaiser Chiefs, Pussycat Dolls and The White Stripes are nominated for the Best International Group award.

Altan, Kila, Lasairfhiona, Christy Moore, Sharon Shannon and John Spillane are the nominees for the Best Folk/Trad award.

Humanitarian, Lifetime Achievement and Industry awards will also be presented.

Tickets are not available to buy for the awards ceremony, and will only be available through competitions, texting and online voting – full details and voting information can be found at

RTÉ is not responsible for the content of external websites.

The awards, hosted by comedian Patrick Kielty, will take place on Thursday 2 February 2006 and will be broadcast on RTÉ Two at 9pm on Sunday 5 February.