Snow Patrol were the big winners at the star-studded Meteor Ireland Music Awards last night, taking the awards for Best Irish Band and Best Irish Album for 'Final Straw'.

Paddy Casey won Best Irish Male for the second year running, with Juliet Turner winning the Best Irish Female award.

Westlife won the award for Best Pop Act.

Morrissey and PJ Harvey were the winners of the Best International Male and Female awards respectively.

Franz Ferdinand continued their lengthy awards run when they won in the Best International Group and Album categories.

The Chalets won the Best Newcomer award, while Angels of Mons won the RTÉ 2FM Hope for 2005 award.

The Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Aslan; Adi Roche was the recipient of the Humanitarian award and Corrs manager John Hughes was honoured with the Industry award.

Today FM's Ray D'Arcy was named Best Irish DJ; Planxty took the award for Best Folk Act and the Killers were the winners of the Best Visiting Live Performance award.