The shortlist of nominees for the 2005 Meteor Ireland Music Awards has been announced, with the public eligible to vote in five of the categories.

In total 16 awards will be presented at the awards ceremony, which will be hosted by comedian Ed Byrne at The Point Theatre on Thursday 24 February 2005.

Nominated for Best Irish Band this year are Bell X1, Blink, Future Kings of Spain, Snow Patrol, The Frames and The Thrills. In the Best Irish Pop Act category Westlife, The Corrs, Brian McFadden, Carol Anthony, Ronan Keating and D-Side are all nominated.

In the running for Best Irish Male are Paddy Casey, David Kitt, Brian McFadden, Mundy, Declan O'Rourke and Damien Rice. On this year's shortlist for Best Irish Female are Sinéad O'Connor, Juliet Turner, Ann Scott, Eleanor Shanley, Cathy Davey and Bronagh Gallagher.

The shortlist for Best Irish Album includes 'Burn the Maps' (The Frames), 'Deep Inside the Sound of Sadness' (Blink), 'Final Straw' (Snow Patrol), 'Let's Bottle Bohemia' (The Thrills), 'Raining Down Arrows' (Mundy) and 'Since Kyabram' (Declan O'Rourke).

Shortlisted in the Best Irish DJ category are RTÉ 2fm's Dave Fanning, Ryan Tubridy and Jenny Huston, with Tom Dunne, Ray D'Arcy, Ian Dempsey and Alison Curtis also nominated.

Nominated in the Best Folk/Trad category are Kila, Mary McPartlan, George Murphy, Declan O'Rourke, Planxty and Pauline Scanlon.

Eminem, George Michael, Morrissey, Usher, Kanye West and Robbie Williams make up the nomination shortlist for Best International Male, while Anastacia, Natasha Bedingfield, PJ Harvey, Kylie Minogue, Bic Runga and Joss Stone are the Best International Female nominees.

Up for Best International Album at this year's awards ceremony are 'Aha Shake Heartbreak' (Kings of Leon), 'American Idiot' (Green Day), 'Hopes and Fears' (Keane), 'Hot Fuss' (Killers) and Scissor Sisters' and Franz Ferdinand's self-titled albums.

On the shortlist for Best International Group are Franz Ferdinand, Keane, Killers, Outkast, REM and Scissor Sisters. The nominees for Best Live Performance Visiting Act are Franz Ferdinand, Killers, Madonna, Metallica, Pixies and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

The categories of Best Irish Band, Best Irish Male, Best Irish Female, Best Irish Pop Act and Best Irish DJ will be voted on by the public.

Additional awards on the night will include Hope for 2005, to be voted for by RTÉ 2fm listeners, The Lifetime Achievement Award and The Industry Award. This year's Humanitarian Award will be presented to Adi Roche, in recognition of her work with the children of Chernobyl.

Tickets for the Meteor Ireland Music Awards, priced at €30 including booking fee, will go on sale from Ticketmaster and usual outlets nationwide in the coming weeks.