The winners of the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards were announced in Vicar Street tonight and live on RTÉ Radio 1 in a celebration of the very best in folk music in Ireland from the past year.

Ye Vagabonds won the highly coveted Best Folk Album award for Nine Waves, while Susan O'Neill was awarded Best Original Folk Track for Now You See It, with RTÉ Folk On One presenter Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh bagging Best Traditional Folk Track with her take on Róisín Dubh, performed in collaboration the Irish Chamber Orchestra.

Susan O'Neill, winner of Best Original Folk Track

Nic Amhlaoibh was also named Best Folk Singer, with concertina player Cormac Begley winning the Best Folk Instrumentalist Award, and the olllam awarded Best Folk Group. The Best Emerging Artist prize went to young Donegal multi-instrumentalist Cathal Ó Curráin.

John Creedon addresses the audience at Vicar Street

Hosted by RTÉ's John Creedon in front of a live audience and broadcast live on RTÉ Radio 1, the night featured live performances from Sharon Shannon, Scullion, Pauline Scanlon, Inni-K, Mary Black, members of The Chieftains and more.

(L-R) John Sheahan of The Dubliners, the late Paddy Moloney's widow
Rita O' Reilly and Minister Catherine Ryan

Mary Black was a popular winner of the Lifetime Achievement award, while Paddy Moloney of The Chieftains was posthumously added to the Folk Awards' Hall Of Fame.

U.K. folk singers Eliza & Martin Carthy performed at the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards

A television highlights programme will be broadcast on RTÉ One on Saturday 19th November at 10.25pm.

RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards - the winners in full

Best Original Folk Track

Now You See It - Susan O'Neill

Best Traditional Folk Track

Róisín Dubh - Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh & the Irish Chamber Orchestra

Best Folk Singer

Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh

Best Folk Instrumentalist

Cormac Begley

Best Folk Group

the olllam

Best Folk Album

Nine Waves - Ye Vagabonds

Best Emerging Artist

Cathal Ó Curráin

Hall of Fame

Paddy Moloney

Lifetime Achievement

Mary Black