A one-hour television special on RTÉ One at 10.35pm on Wednesday, 8th December will showcase the six nominees and crown the overall winner of the An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021.

Oliver Callan presents the television special from the historic library at Tullynally Castle, County Westmeath.

Books by Maureen Gaffney, David King, Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen, Séamas O’Reilly, Fintan O’Toole and Sally Rooney have been nominated for the title of An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021.

The six titles competing for the accolade were category winners from the recent An Post Irish Book Awards and, given the sheer volume of votes each book has so far received from the public vote and the Academy, they are now finalists for the overall An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021.

The six nominated titles are:

· Your One Wild and Precious Life – Maureen Gaffney

· A Hug For You – David King

· Aisling and the City – Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen

· Did Ye Hear Mammy Died? – Séamas O’Reilly

· We Don’t Know Ourselves: A Personal History of Ireland Since 1958 – Fintan O’Toole

· Beautiful World, Where Are You? – Sally Rooney

The overall winner has been decided by an executive panel of judges, while the strength of the public vote will also be taken into consideration.

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Watch the An Post Irish Book Awards Virtual Ceremony 2021

Previous winners of the An Post Irish Book of the Year include Doireann Ni Ghriofa for A Ghost in the Throat, Vicky Phelan for Overcoming, and Emilie Pine for Notes to Self.

Tune into RTÉ One at 10:35pm on Wednesday 8th December to find out who wins the An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021, and catch up afterwards via RTÉ Player. The An Post Irish Book of the Year public vote is sponsored by National Book Tokens.