The shortlist has been announced for the 2021 RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards, celebrating the best in Irish folk music over the past year.

After a virtual awards event last year, RTÉ presenters John Creedon and Ruth Smith will return to Dublin's Vicar Street on Tuesday 16th November to present the awards ceremony in front of a live audience, with live performances from an array of Irish folk talent.

Read the 2021 RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards shortlist below - the Lifetime Achievement award will be announced in the coming weeks.

Best Original Folk Track

Almost – Susan O'Neill

Bread and Wine – Adrian Crowley

Chain Reaction – Mick Flannery and Susan O’Neill

Patsy Cline – Jack O’Rourke

Taking the Wheel – Laura Quirke & Joshua Burnside

Best Traditional Folk Track

An Bhuatais – Lorcan MacMathúna

Cúirt Bhaile Nua - Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin & Ultan O'Brien

Easter Snow / Sally Gally – Ryan Molloy and Padraig McGovern

I’m a Rover – Ye Vagabonds

My Son Tim – John Francis Fynn

Peggy Gordon – Lisa O’Neill and Colm Mac Con Iomaire

Best Folk Singer

John Francis Flynn

Emma Langford

Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh

Susan O’Neill

Declan O’Rourke

Best Folk Instrumentalist

Brian Finnegan

Martin Hayes

Ryan Molloy

Caoimhin O’Fearghaill

Alannah Thornburgh

Best Folk Group



The Whileaways


Ye Vagabonds

Best Folk Album

I Would Not Live Always - John Francis Flynn

They’re Calling Me Home - Rhiannon Giddens and Francesca Turrisi

In the Game - Mick Flannery and Susan O'Neill

Solas an Lae - Eoghan O’Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien

Where I Should End - Saint Sister

Best Emerging Artist


John Francis Flynn

Dani Larkin

Eoghan O’Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien

Alannah Thornburgh

The 2021 Irish Folk Awards ceremony takes place in Vicar Street on Tuesday 16th November - listen in live via RTÉ Radio 1 at 8 pm, with a television highlights programme on RTÉ One on Saturday 20th November.

Tickets for the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards are on sale now via