The Irish authors Kathleen McMahon and Naoise Dolan have been longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction in the UK.

Kathleen McMahon is nominated for her book Nothing But Blue Sky and Naoise Dolan for Exciting Times.

Kathleen McMahon, author of Nothing But Blue Sky

The prize is awarded for the best full-length novel written by a woman and published in the UK, and any woman writing in English is eligible.

There are 16 authors on the longlist which will be narrowed down to a shortlist of 6, announced on April 28. The winner will be announced on July 7th, and will receive £30,000 and a bronze figurine.


Because of You by Dawn French

Burnt Sugar by Avni Doshi

Consent by Annabel Lyon

Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters

Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

Luster by Raven Leilani

No One is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood

Nothing But Blue Sky by Kathleen MacMahon

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

Small Pleasures by Clare Chambers

Summer by Ali Smith

The Golden Rule by Amanda Craig

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi

Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller