The recipients of the 2020 RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards have been announced, with Lankum, Steve Cooney and Mick Flannery among the big winners on the night - listen to the awards show above.

The Best Folk Group award went to Lankum, with their vocalist Radie Peat named Best Folk Singer. Mick Flannery & Susan O'Neill were named the winners of Best Original Folk Track, for Baby Talk.

Presenters John Creedon and Ruth Smith 

Australian-born guitarist Steve Cooney, a longtime Irish resident, received the Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as the Best Traditional Folk Track prize for his version of Eleanor Plunkett, and Best Folk Album for Ceol Ársa Cláirsí: Tunes of the Irish Harpers for Solo Guitar, his solo album debut after four decades collaborating with the finest traditional musicians in the field. 

Singer, song collector, architect and lecturer, Frank Harte, who passed away in 2005, was this year's receipent of the Hall of Fame honour, for his formidable contribution to the Irish folk tradition. 

Brendan Gleeson (right) presented Frank Harte's daughter Orla with
his posthumous Hall Of Fame awar

The prizes were announced at a special live event from RTÉ Radio studios in Dublin, hosted by John Creedon and Ruth Smith, with a special message from President Michael D. Higgins - watch below.

We need your consent to load this comcast-player contentWe use comcast-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards 2020 - the winners

Best Original Folk Track: Baby Talk by Mick Flannery & SON

Best Traditional Folk Track: Eleanor Plunkett by Steve Cooney

Best Folk Singer: Radie Peat

Best Folk Instrumentalist: Steve Cooney

Iarla Ó Lionáird (far left) presented Steve Cooney with his
Irish Folk Award for Lifetime Achievement

Best Folk Group: Lankum

Best Folk Album: Ceol Ársa Cláirsí: Tunes of the Irish Harpers for Solo Guitar by Steve Cooney

Lifetime Achievement Award: Steve Cooney

Hall of Fame Award: Frank Harte