The nominations have been announced for the 3rd Annual RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards, with this year's nominees representing the cream of the contemporary folk world - view the shortlist below.

The awards ceremony will take place on the 26th November in the RTÉ Radio studios, and will be broadcast live at 8 pm on RTÉ Radio 1, with returning co-presenters Ruth Smith & John Creedon presenting two hours of music, song and chat, featuring an array of distinguished guests from the folk world. 

The recipients for the Hall of Fame award will be announced on the night, joining this year's 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award winner, guitarist Steve Cooney. 

Steve Cooney


Best Folk Instrumentalist

Steve Cooney

Martin Hayes

Caroline Keane

Ryan Molloy

Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh

Martin Hayes

Best Folk Singer

Mick Flannery

Emma Langford

Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh

Radie Peat

Radie Peat

Best Folk Album

Ceol Ársa Cláirsí: Tunes of the Irish Harpers for Solo Guitar – Steve Cooney

Hemet – Níamh Regan

So Ends This Day – Eilís Kennedy

The Livelong Day – Lankum

Eilis Kennedy

Best Folk Group



Saint Sister

The Bonny Men

The Lost Brothers

The Lost Brothers

Best Original Track of the Year

Baby Talk - Mick Flannery & SON

Dynamite – Saint Sister

Flow in the Year of Wu Wei – Brian Finnegan

The Beauty Of Everyday Things - Luka Bloom

The Young People – Lankum

Mick Flannery

Best Traditional Track of the Year

Eleanor Plunkett – Steve Cooney

O'Neill’s March - Martin Hayes & Brooklyn Ryder

Port na bPúcaí - Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh

Tabhair Dom do Lámh – Steve Cooney

The Broken Pledge - The Bonny Men

The Pride of Petravore – Lankum

The Old Maids of Galway - Liam Flanagan & Claire O’Loughlin

The Wild Rover – Lankum