The Abbey Theatre has commissioned writers from Ireland, with unique additional contributions from the USA, China and Italy, to each write a monologue to be performed online by the cream of Irish acting talent. 

This historic project will be called Dear Ireland and will feature 50 actors. 

Directors of the Abbey Theatre, Graham McLaren and Neil Murray, said: "The Abbey Theatre is more than the walls which house its productions, and the work of Ireland’s national theatre responds and will continue to reflect the challenges being faced by Irish society.

Listen: Frank McGuinness talks Dear Ireland on RTÉ Arena

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

"We are artist-led and audience-focused and, in this profoundly historic period for Ireland, we have brought together the voices of 100 artists to provoke a creative conversation with the nation."

Each writer nominated one actor to perform their piece, and the actors are self-taping their performances from social isolation. 

Brendan Gleeson will perform in Dear Ireland

Acclaimed Irish artist Maser was also commissioned to respond to the Dear Ireland call and his artwork will be woven through the visuals in the films. 

Dear Ireland will premiere online later this month.

The monologues will be screened in four parts at 7.30pm from Tuesday 28 April to Friday 1 May on the Abbey Theatre's YouTube channel, and via RTÉ Culture.

The writers involved are as follows:

  • Blindboy
  • Dermot Bolger
  • Pom Boyd
  • Sinéad Burke
  • TKB (Thommas Kane Byrne)
  • Dylan Coburn Gray
  • Karen Cogan
  • John Connors
  • Kit de Waal
  • Shaun Dunne
  • Iseult Golden
  • Stacey Gregg
  • Sarah Hanly
  • Nancy Harris
  • David Ireland
  • Colm Keegan
  • Sonya Kelly
  • Deirdre Kinahan
  • Emmet Kirwan
  • Darach Mac Con Iomaire
  • Manchán Magan
  • Aoife Martyn
  • Owen McCafferty
  • Rosaleen McDonagh
  • Frank McGuinness
  • Meadhbh McHugh (New York)
  • Una McKevitt
  • Phillip McMahon
  • Andrea Molino (Italy)
  • Gina Moxley
  • Jimmy Murphy
  • Zoe Ní Riordáin
  • Edna O’Brien
  • Eva O’Connor
  • Joseph O’Connor
  • John O’Donovan
  • Mark O’Halloran
  • Jody O’Neill
  • Shane O’Reilly
  • Felicia 'Felispeaks' Olusanya
  • Margaret Perry
  • Ursula Rani Sarma
  • Arthur Riordan
  • Ciara Elizabeth Smyth
  • Abbie Spallen
  • Keith James Walker
  • Enda Walsh
  • Michael West
  • Carmel Winters
  • Zhu Yi (China)

Actors involved in the project are 

  • Cathy Belton
  • Andrew Bennett
  • Dawn Bradfield
  • Amanda Coogan
  • Nicola Coughlan
  • Tim Creed
  • Bríd Criomhthain
  • Zara Devlin
  • Mark Doherty
  • Deirdre Donnelly
  • Mike Donnelly
  • Ashleigh Dorrell
  • Caoilfhionn Dunne
  • Clare Dunne
  • Graham Earley
  • Sorcha Fox
  • Eva-Jane Gaffney
  • Denise Gough
  • Brendan Gleeson
  • Peter Gowen
  • Julia Gu
  • Breffni Holahan
  • Seána Kerslake
  • Katherine Lynch
  • Conor MacNeill
  • Amy McAllister
  • Owen McDonnell
  • Lucianne McEvoy
  • Abigail McGibbon
  • Siobhán McSweeney
  • Leah Minto
  • Deirdre Molloy
  • David Moss
  • Marie Mullen
  • Bríd Ní Neachtain
  • Rory Nolan
  • Eoin O Dubhghaill
  • Kathy Rose O'Brien
  • Marion O’Dwyer
  • Jolene O’Hara
  • Patrick O’Kane
  • Clare O'Malley
  • Marty Rea
  • Ericka Roe
  • Owen Roe
  • Camille Lucy Ross
  • Norma Sheahan
  • Joan Sheehy
  • Stanley Townsend
  • Eleanor Walsh

For updates on the Dear Ireland project, click here