The great and the good from the Irish publishing world gathered last night for the 2016 Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards; Mike McCormack proved a popular winner of the Novel Of The Year gong for his acclaimed Solar Bones, while RTÉ Book Show presenter took home the Best Irish Published Book of the Year prize for editing The Glass Shore, an anthology of female writers from the North of Ireland. Elsewhere, Graham Norton took home the Popular Fiction gong for his fiction debut, Holding, while octogenarian first-time author Kathleen Watkins bagged the Children’s Book of the Year trophy for Piggin Of Howth.

From November 17, the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ by going to

See the full list of winners at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2016 below:

The Eason Book Club Novel of the Year:

Solar Bones - Mike McCormack (Tramp Press)

The Best Irish Published Book of the Year:

The Glass Shore – edited by Sinéad Gleeson (New Island Books)

The Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year:

Red Dirt – E.M. Reapy (Head of Zeus)

The National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

I Read The News Today, Oh Boy – Paul Howard (Picador)

RTE Radio One’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener’s Choice Award:

Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)

The Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior):

Pigín of Howth – Kathleen Watkins, illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs (Gill Books)

The Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior):

Knights of the Borrowed Dark – Dave Rudden (Puffin)

The Avonmore Cookbook of the Year:

The World of The Happy Pear - Stephen and David Flynn (Penguin Ireland)

The Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

Holding - Graham Norton (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

Making It Up As I Go Along – Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)

The Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year:

The Battle - Paul O’Connell (Penguin Ireland)

The Books Are My Bag Crime Fiction Book of the Year:

The Trespasser - Tana French (Hachette Ireland)

The Short Story of the Year Award:

The Visit – Orla McAlinden (Sowilo Press)

The Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year: 

In Glasnevin – Jane Clarke (From: The Irish Times)

Highlights from the Irish Book Awards ceremony, along with interviews with the winners, will be broadcast on RTÉ One on Saturday November 19 at 11.15pm.