Major Theme - {title}
Wexford footballers complete All-Ireland 3-in-a-row
The 1915 All-Ireland winning Wexford team. This year they completed their three-in-a-row

Wexford footballers complete All-Ireland 3-in-a-row

Dublin, 10 December 1917 - Wexford are the All-Ireland football champions – again.

For a third year in a row, the Slaneysiders won Gaelic football’s most coveted prize when they defeated Clare in front of 7,000 spectators at Croke Park yesterday.

After a night of sharp frost, All-Ireland final morning broke to fine, if bitterly cold, weather and the Croke Park surface was in splendid condition when, at midday, the ball was finally thrown in.

What followed, however, was a disappointment. If the result went as many had expected, the manner in which it was achieved was less than brilliant. The quality of football was below that to which we’ve become accustomed in recent years, the flow of the play interrupted by an excessive free count for both sides. Clare, the lighter of the two teams, played against a slight breeze in the first half and did well to trail by only two points at half-time.

The margin between the two teams never narrowed, however. Immediately at the resumption of play in the second half, Wexford swept forward, their captain John O’Kennedy fisting a point to extend their lead to three points. By the conclusion of the game the margin would be extended to four.

The final score read: Wexford 0-9, Clare 0-5.

[Editor's note: This is an article from Century Ireland, a fortnightly online newspaper, written from the perspective of a journalist 100 years ago, based on news reports of the time.]


Century Ireland

The Century Ireland project is an online historical newspaper that tells the story of the events of Irish life a century ago.