Ireland Under-21 head coach Noel King returns to the day job and has announced a strong squad for the forthcoming UEFA Under 21 Championship qualifying round fixtures against the Faroe Islands and Montenegro.

Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish, Blackburn’s John O’Sullivan, QPR’s Michael Harriman and Wolves defender Matt Doherty return to the squad after missing the recent clash with Romania through injury.

Watford midfielder Connor Smith is included but is suspended for the first game.

“These games are very important for us to get back on track in the qualifying process,” said King.

“The Faroe Islands are a good team which were only beaten 3-2 by Germany last month so we’re under no illusions that this will be a testing encounter.

"We’ve had good support in Sligo for our other fixtures so we are hoping the Sligo public will come out in force to support us again.”

Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad: Aaron McCarey, Seán McDermott, Matt Doherty, Michael Harriman, Shane Duffy, Seán McGinty, Derrick Williams, Anthony O'Connor, Charles Dunne, John O’Sullivan, Joe Shaughnessy, Callum Reilly, Anthony Forde, Seán Murray, Samir Caruthers, Jack Grealish, Aiden O'Brien, Will Hayhurst, Connor Smith