Bray Wanderers and UCD played out a 1-1 draw at the Carlisle Grounds in a result which moves Bray off the bottom of the table and gives UCD a little breathing room as they seek to avoid being sucked into a relegation dogfight.

An evenly-matched opening quarter saw the sides cancel each other out without too much in the way of clear-cut chances being made.

The deadlock was broken midway through the first half when UCD were awarded a free-kick in the middle of the park.

Barry McCabe showed great awareness to play it quickly forward to Cillian Morrison on the edge of the box. His first touch was excellent before he drove into the area and slid it past Darren Quigley in the Bray goal, and College led.

Wanderers equalised ten minutes before the break. Gary Dempsey won the ball on the halfway line and played it back to Dean Zambra who clipped a ball over the top into the path of Kieran Marty Waters on the left hand side. He carried it to the end line before cutting a cross back to Jason Byrne, who couldn’t miss from eight yards.

UCD had a number of chances midway through the second half and may count themselves unlucky not to have taken the lead. On 61 minutes David O’Connor might have scored when he turned Hugh Douglas’ header from a Dean Clarke corner goalward, but Quigley saved well from close range.

Minutes later another quick free kick almost undid Bray. This time Seán Russell took it, giving it to Clarke, but despite a good first touch he could only flash his shot off the upright.

Further chances were few and far between, although subs Robbie Benson for UCD and John Mulroy for Bray both failed to keep shots down in the closing stages.

The result means that Bray, despite moving off the bottom of the table are now 11 league matches without a win, while UCD continue to have some daylight between themselves and the three teams below them.

Bray Wanderers: Darren Quigley, Danny O’Conner, Adam Mitchell, Gary Dempsey (Kevin Knight 89), Kevin O’Connor, Ishmail Akinade (John Mulroy 85), Jason Byrne, Kieran Marty Waters, Conor Early, Shane ‘Connor, Dean Zambra

UCD: Ger Barron, Mark Langtry, Tomás Boyle (Robbie Benson 68), Michael Leahy, Hugh Douglas, David O’Connor, Barry McCabe, Seán Russell, Craig Walsh, Cillian Morrison, Dean Clarke (Samir Belhout 77)

Referee: A Buttimer.