/ Soccer

No places for David Healy and Paddy McCourt in Northern Ireland squad

Updated: Tuesday, 06 Aug 2013 14:22 | Comments

Kyle Lafferty is back following suspension
Kyle Lafferty is back following suspension

Northern Ireland manager Michael O'Neill has named a 20-man squad for next week's World Cup qualifying home clash against Russia.

Striker Kyle Lafferty, who sat out the last qualifier due to suspension, is among the party for the Group F game next Wednesday at Windsor Park.

Fellow frontman David Healy, midfielder Paddy McCourt and defender Chris Baird - all currently without a club - have not been included, while West Brom midfielder Chris Brunt is also absent.

The fixture had originally been scheduled for March, but heavy snow and icy playing conditions in Belfast saw it postponed.

Northern Ireland squad for Russia: Carroll (Olympiacos), Mannus (St Johnstone), Hughes (Fulham), McGivern (Hibernian), Cathcart (Blackpool), McAuley (West Brom), D Lafferty (Burnley), J Evans (Manchester United), Bruce (Hull), Davis (Southampton), Norwood (Huddersfield), McCann (Peterborough), McGinn (Aberdeen), Ferguson (Birmingham, on loan from Newcastle), C Evans (Blackburn), Grigg (Brentford), McKay (Inverness), Paterson (Huddersfield), Ward (Derby), K Lafferty (Palermo).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use