With a play-off already secured to earn their survival in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division, Finn Harps posted a single-goal victory over Waterford FC in Ballybofey. 

Harps had picked up just two points from the last 21 available – a run that goes back to their defeat of Bohemians on 2 August. However, a goal by Joshua Smith earned all three points in the last of their regulation home fixtures. 

Horgan has previously taken Harps to the Premier Division with wins over Limerick FC in both 2015 and 2017. Now his priority will be to ensure Harps' safety, something that looked unlikely when they were 10 points adrift at the bottom of the table in 

The only goal of the match in Ballybofey tonight came on six minutes when defender Joshua Smith headed home his first goal in a Harps shirt.

The hosts had a couple of chances to double their advantage in the first half against a weary Waterford. In the first minute Nathan Boyle broke free as the visitors looked for a flag that never came only to see Matt Connor save his shot.

In first half injury time, Jacob Borg, another defender, saw a shot go into the Waterford side-netting.

Walter Figueira fashioned a chance for the visitors 16 minutes from time, but the Waterford attacker couldn’t hit the taget.

The closest Waterford came to grabbing a point was two minutes when sub Dean Walsh saw a fine effort well saved by Mark Anthony McGinley in the Harps goal. 

Michael O’Connor’s shot at McGinley on 88 minutes was Waterford’s last chance. 

The Donegal-based side have a double-header to survive in the top flight against Drogheda or Cabinteely to look forward to after their final day of the season at Derry City next week. 

Finn Harps: Mark Anthony McGinley; Harry Ascroft, Joshua Smith, Sam Todd; Jacob Borg, Ruairi Harkin, Gareth Harkin, Mark Timlin, Mark Russell; Raffaele Cretaro; Nathan Boyle. Subs: Stephen Doherty for Timlin (56), Daniel O’Reilly for R.Harkin (77), Niall Logue for Cretaro (81).

Waterford: Matt Connor; Sam Bone, Rory Feely, Maxim Kouogun, Kevin Lynch; Shane Duggan, JJ Lunney, Tom Holland, Georgie Poynton; Michael O’Connor, Walter Figueira. Subs: Zach Elbouzedi for Bone (59), Rob Slevin for Feely (72), Dean Walsh for Holland (72).

Referee: Damien McGraith.