The Football Association of Ireland has agreed to allow Shamrock Rovers field a second team in the 2014 First Division.

Following the decision of Mervue United and Salthill Devon to withdraw from the First Division in favour of a new Galway club, the FAI chose Shamrock Rovers after considering several applications for a place in the league.

The second-tier side will not be eligible for promotion or the play-offs and will not be allowed to enter the EA SPORTS Cup or the FAI Ford Cup.

Also, disciplinary sanctions imposed on Shamrock Rovers players will apply to both teams, while from their Premier Division squad, the club will be permitted to play a maximum of three outfield players and a goalkeeper in First Division ties.

Fran Gavin, Director of the Airtricity League, stated: “This is the first time that we have allowed a club to field a second team in a lower division of the League.

“However, it is not unusual in a European context as this is the norm in countries such Spain, Germany, France, Norway, Holland, Switzerland and Portugal.

“It was an idea that came from the club and once they embraced the parameters we required them to operate within we approved the application.”

Subject to all clubs receiving licences, the 2014 First Division will consist of the following eight clubs: Cobh Ramblers, Finn Harps, Galway, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Waterford United and Wexford Youths.

Shamrock Rovers will continue to field a team in the Airtricity U-19 League.