Champions Raheny United began the defence of their Bus Éireann Women’s National League crown with an emphatic 4-0 victory over DLR Waves at Morton Stadium.

Caroline Thorpe opened the scoring for the Northsiders when she found the net in the 29th minute after a tense opening half by heading home from a Rebecca Creagh corner.

After the break Katie McCabe gave the home side control of the game when she netted four minutes in after a defensive mix-up and Thorpe added a decisive third in the 71st minute when she headed home from a McCabe cross.

The score-line was perhaps a little cruel on DLR as Raheny finished the scoring in the third minute of injury-time through Noelle Murray after she burst clear of the visiting defence.

Castlebar Celtic started their campaign with a tight 2-1 victory over Cork Women’s FC at Celtic Park.

Katie Walsh put the Mayo side ahead in the 11th minute with a shot from distance but Emer Gilroy levelled in the 29th minute to send the sides in level at the break. Emma Hansberry claimed the winner in the 73rd minute with a powerful drive.

At Eamonn Deacy Park, Galway WFC played their first ever competitive campaign and would have been more than pleased to come away with a point after Sinead Taylor’s 82nd minute penalty following a foul on Lucy Hannon.

Maria Delahunty had fired Wexford into an 11th minute lead after finding the net with a thumping free-kick from 25 yards out but Galway leveled through Grainne Barrett in the 28th minute after the visitors failed to clear a corner.

Wexford went in leading 2-1 at the break after Kylie Murphy converted a 41st minute penalty following a foul by home keeper Melissa Casserly on Claire O’Riordan.

A massive home attendance went home with smiles on their faces after Taylor’s penalty ensured a share of the spoils.

Bus Éireann Women’s National League
Castlebar Celtic 2-1 Cork Women’s FC
Galway WFC 2-2 Wexford Youths Women’s AFC
Raheny United 4-0 DLR Waves