The Republic of Ireland squad travel to New York today but a number of senior players have been excused.

Marc Wilson (operation), Jon Walters (knee), Aiden McGeady (wedding), Wes Hoolahan (foot), Keiren Westwood (shoulder), Richard Dunne (speaking to clubs about his future), John O’Shea (bereavement) and Glenn Whelan (rest) will not make the trip to play Spain on Tuesday night.

Captain Robbie Keane, who scored a hat-trick in the Republic’s 3-0 win over the Faroe Islands, leads the squad.

The FAI staff and players also offered their condolences to John O’Shea on the death of his uncle, Jimmy O’Leary, in Waterford this morning.

Ireland squad: David Forde, Darren Randolph, Aaron McCarey, Sean St Ledger, Seamus Coleman, Damien Delaney, Darren O’Dea, Paul Mc Shane, Stephen Kelly, Richard Keogh, James Mc Clean, David Meyler, James McCarthy, Andy Keogh, Jeff Hendrick, Stephen Quinn, Simon Cox, Conor Sammon, Robbie Keane.