UCD added Dundalk to their list of recent conquests as David McMillan inspired the Students to a 3-2 Airtricity League Premier DIvision victory at Oriel Park.

McMillan, who scored the winner in the corresponding fixture last season, hit a brace before setting up Robbie Benson for UCD's third goal to stretch Martin Russell's side's unbeaten run to four games.

Pat Hoban got Dundalk off to the perfect start inside the first two minutes, collecting a fantastic pass from John Dillon to take the ball down and fire past Conor O'Donnell.

Rusell's in form side drew level 12 minutes later when David McMillan smashed a penalty into the roof of the net after John Sullivan was penalised for a push on Gary Burke.

A fantastic bout of one touch play cut UCD wide open in the 29th minute but Stephen O'Donnell could not apply the finishing touch that the move deserved, screwing his effort wide.

Tiarnan Mulvenna then wasted a great opportunity to put Dundalk back in front before the break, volleying badly wide with just O'Donnell to beat.

The second-half was in its infancy when McMillan pounced on Benson's left wing cross to drive a low drive across Cherrie into the bottom corner.

And Dundalk were left with a mountain to climb as the Students made it 3-1 in the 59th minute thanks to a fantastic example of counter attacking football.

Benson's ball sent McMillan haring through on the inside right and the striker returned the favour, cutting the ball back for his partner in crime to sweep home.

Hoban set up a grandstand finish when he turned the ball home in the 84th minute and Kurtis Byrne almost rescued a point for the home side in stoppage time but his stunning volley hit the bar.

Dundalk: Peter Cherrie; John Sullivan (John Mountney 63), Andy Boyle, Mark Rossiter, Dane Massey; John Dillon, Stephen O'Donnell, Richie Towell, Keith Ward (Darren Meenan 67); Pat Hoban, Tiarnan Mulvenna (Kurtis Byrne 80).

Subs not used: Eoghan Osborne, Stephen McDonnell, Vinny Faherty, Aaron Shanahan (GK).

UCD: Conor O'Donnell; Gareth Mathews, David O'Connor, James Kavanagh, Mark Langtry; Dean Clarke (Cillian Morrison 68), Barry McCabe (Colm Crowe 77), Craig Walsh (Hugh Douglas 88), Robert Benson, Gary Burke; David McMillan.

Subs not used: Sean Coyne, Thomas O'Halloran, Daniel Corcoran, Mark McGinley (GK).