Cobh Ramblers will begin their return to the Airtricity League with a home game with Wexford Youths.

The full list of Airtricity League First Division fixtures was announced today with 28 series of matches in the eight-team division, one automatic promotion place and one play-off spot.

The season will kick-off on Friday, 8 March, with two games down for decision as Salthill Devon take on Longford Town at Drom and Waterford United face Finn Harps at the RSC.

The following evening Athlone Town and Mervue United will face other at Athlone Town Stadium while Cobh meet Wexford St Colman’s Park.

The second and third place teams in the league will play-off over two legs for the right to meet the 11th placed team from the Premier Division in the promotion-relegation play-off for a place in the top flight next season.

The first series of fixtures are:

Friday, March 8
Salthill Devon v Longford Town, Drom, 7.45pm
Waterford United v Finn Harps, R.S.C., 7.45pmS

Saturday, March 9
Athlone Town v Mervue United, Athlone Town Stadium, 7.30pm
Cobh Ramblers v Wexford Youths, St. Colman’s Park, 7.30pm