The FAI have confirmed that there will be a 12-team structure for next season's Airtricity League Premier Division.

Monaghan United's decision to withdraw from the league in June means that there are now just 11 teams competing in the Premier Division.

As a result there will be no automatic relegation from the top tier this season and there is the possibility of a a situation whereby no team is relegated.

The winners of the First Division will be promoted automatically and the winners of a promotion/relegation play-off between the bottom team in the Premier Division and a team from the First Division will play in the top flight.

There are currently only eight teams competing in that First Division and with the prospect of an extra-team moving to the top division, a seven team league would appear to be untenable.

The FAI went on to confirm that they are seeking interested clubs to apply to join the First Divison.