The Football Association of Ireland has announced a new National Women’s League which will begin in November.

The seven clubs who will compete in the league are: Bray Wanderers/ St Josephs, Castlebar Celtic FC, Cork Women’s FC, Peamount United, Raheny United, Shamrock Rovers, and Wexford Youths Women’s AFC.

Prior to the start of the new venture, the FAI will meet each of the participating clubs to discuss marketing, licensing and administration.

News of the new League was welcomed by Irish senior coach Sue Ronan. She said: "This is a very exciting time for women’s football in Ireland. The new competition will continue to nurture and develop the women’s game at domestic and international level.

"This new National League will be a cornerstone in the future success of our game."