France coach Raymond Domenech has named two uncapped players, Bordeaux goalkeeper Cedric Carrasso and Olympique Lyon defender Aly Cissokho, in his squad for the World Cup play-off with the Republic of Ireland.

Inter Milan's Patrick Vieira misses out on a place in the 24-man squad, showcasing the strength in-depth Domenech possesses in midfield, where Arsenal's Abou Diaby and former Portsmouth player Lassana Diarra are among those selected.

‘To have two games like these to play is important for a whole generation,’ Domenech, who has faced criticism in France for years and knows his job will be on the line, told a news conference.

‘We need total support from the public,’ added the France coach, whose team have been jeered by their own fans in recent outings.

Asked whether the fact Ireland were coached by Giovanni Trapattoni boosted his motivation, Domenech said: ‘No, this is France against Ireland and the coaches don't play the matches.

‘This is not a boxing fight, this is not a Frenchman against an Italian, just two coaches who want their team to qualify,’ he added.

Up front, Domenech has top Premier League talent in Nicolas Anelka and Florent Malouda of Chelsea, as well as Real Madrid recruit Karim Benzema and former Arsenal star Thierry Henry, now with Barcelona, to choose from.

Sidney Govou, recently stripped of the Olympique Lyon captaincy after being photographed leaving a nightclub two days before a Ligue 1 clash, is also included.

At the back, Premier League trio Patrice Evra, Bacary Sagna and William Gallas, Barcelona's Eric Abidal and Sebastian Squillaci of Sevilla are, along with Cissokho, among Domenech's options.

Ireland host France on 14 November at Croke Park before visiting the Stade de France four days later with a place in the 2010 World Cup in South Africa the prize on offer for the winner.

France squad to play the Republic of Ireland in the World Cup play-off, on 14 November at Croke Park and 18 November at Stade de France:

Goalkeepers: Cedric Carrasso (Girondins Bordeaux), Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyon), Steve Mandanda (Olympique Marseille).

Defenders: Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Aly Cissokho (Olympique Lyon), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Julien Escude (Sevilla), Rod Fanni (Stade Rennes), William Gallas (Arsenal), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Sebastien Squillaci (Sevilla).

Midfielders: Abou Diaby (Arsenal), Alou Diarra (Girondins Bordeaux), Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid), Yoann Gourcuff (Girondins Bordeaux), Moussa Sissoko (Toulouse), Jeremy Toulalan (Olympique Lyon).

Forwards: Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyon), Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Loic Remy (Nice).