Ulster head coach Mark Anscombe has made five changes and one positional switch for Friday night’s crucial RaboDirect PRO12 match against Cardiff Blues at Ravenhill.

John Afoa, Johann Muller and Iain Henderson all return to the side, while Callum Black is preferred to Tom Court in the front row.

Robbie Diack and Chris Henry both make their 100th appearance for the club and will start alongside each other in the back-row.

Paul Marshall starts at scrum-half, with Ruan Pienaar moving to out-half. Stuart Olding who has scored two tries in his past two games, retains his place at inside centre, with Darren Cave named at 13.

British and Irish Lions winger, Tommy Bowe, is selected on the left wing with Andrew Trimble, who has scored ten tries for the Province so far this season, starting on the right.

Sean Doyle is included in an Ulster squad for the first time since breaking his leg in October and will start on the bench.

Nigel Brady is also named among the substitutes in what is likely to be his last game for the club at Ravenhill. The 33 year old has represented Ulster for 12 years and has made 118 appearances.

Ulster require three more match points to ensure that they finish at the top of the table. 

Ulster team to face Cardiff Blues at Ravenhill, 7.45pm:
J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, S Olding, T Bowe, R Pienaar, P Marshall; C Black, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller, I Henderson, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams; 

Replacements: N Brady, T Court, D Fitzpatrick, D Tuohy, S Doyle, P Jackson, M Allen, P Nelson.


Live television coverage of Connacht v Glasgow from 19:30 on Friday 3 May on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only).