Paul O'Connell will captain the Lions in Saturday's tour opener against the Barbarians at Hong Kong Stadium.

O'Connell, the 2009 Lions tour skipper in South Africa, takes over from flanker Sam Warburton, who rests a knee injury.

The team contains nine Welshmen, including the entire back-row of Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric and Toby Faletau

Cian Healy, Conor Murray, and Jonathan Sexton have been named in the replacements.

Lions: S Hogg; A Cuthbert, J Davies, J Roberts, S Maitland; O’Farrell, M Phillips; M Vunipola, R Hibbard, A Jones, R Gray, P O'Connell (capt), D Lydiate, J Tipuric, T Faletau.

Replacements: T Youngs, C Healy, M Stevens, A W Jones, J Heaslip, C Murray, J Sexton, G North. 

Live radio coverage of the Barbarians v Lions on Game On from 12.00 on Saturday 1 June on RTÉ 2fm and RTÉ.ie (RoI only).