Philip Doyle, coach of the Ireland women's rugby team has named an extended 33-player Rugby World Cup training squad ahead of the IRB Women's Rugby World Cup in Marcoussis, France, this coming August.

The most notable absentee from the squad is scrum-half Amy Davis who is ruled out through injury.

There are seven additions to the squad that competed in the 2014 RBS 6 Nations earlier in the year: Mary Healy, Niamh Kavanagh, Vickie McGinn, Sarah Mimnagh, Ruth O'Reilly , Tania Rosser  and Juliet Short.

Niamh Briggs, Lynne Cantwell and Fiona Coghlan are also named in the training squad.

Ireland women will face defending champions New Zealand, USA and Kazakhstan in Pool B.

Doyle's charges kick-off their World Cup campaign against the USA on Friday 1 August at 4pm. 

Next up is New Zealand on Tuesday 5 August at 5pm with their final pool game against Kazakhstan on Saturday 9 August at noon.

Philip Doyle, Ireland women's head coach, commented, "Over the coming months we will host a number of training camps in preparation for the World Cup.

"We played some pretty good rugby during the Six Nations but we will need to find another level if we are to compete with the world's best sides."

Ireland training squad for IRB Women's Rugby World Cup:
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Gill Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster), Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster), Lynne Cantwell (Richmond /Exile), Hannah Casey (Saracens/Exile), Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster), Kerri Ann Craddock (Saracens/Exile), Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's/Leinster), Orla Fitzsimmons (St. Mary's/Leinster), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster), Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster), Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster), Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht), Ashling Hutchings (UL Bohemians/Munster), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster), Stacey-Lea Kennedy (Cooke/Ulster), Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Vickie McGinn (Blackrock/Leinster), Alison Miller (Portlaoise RFC/UCC/Connacht), Sarah Mimnagh (Richmond/Exile)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht), Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile)
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Heather O' Brien (Highfield/Munster), Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster), Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile), Juliet Short (Newcastle/Exile), Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster).