Simon Zebo has been passed fit to take his place in the Munster starting line-up for the Heineken Cup quarter-final clash against Harlequins.

Zebo’s last game for Munster came against Racing Metro on 20 January as he incurred a foot injury in the second game of the RBS 6 Nations against England.

Doug Howlett misses out on the Twickenham encounter with an injured shoulder, with his place on the wing going to Denis Hurley.

Howlett suffered the injury in reaching for the line to score a try last weekend against Glasgow Warriors. He sat out Tuesday’s session in Musgrave Park before finally accepting today that he wouldn’t make the starting team.

Internationals Conor Murray, Peter O’Mahony and Donnacha Ryan all return to the line-up.

Like Murray and O’Mahony, Ryan hasn’t kicked a ball competitively since the Italy encounter for which he was considered doubtful because of a shoulder/back injury that had been affecting him during the Six Nations.

He gets the nod over Donncha O’Callaghan to partner Paul O’Connell, who wears the captain’s armband, while Cathal Sheridan and Ivan Dineen are both named among the replacements.

Munster XV to face Harlequins: Felix Jones; Denis Hurley, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ronan O’Gara, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne , Mike Sherry BJ Botha; Donnacha Ryan, Paul O’Connell (capt); Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell , James Coughlan.

Replacements: Damien Varley Wian du Preez, Stephen Archer, Donncha O’Callaghan, Patrick Butler, Cathal Sheridan, Ian Keatley, Ivan Dineen.