Leinster and Ireland’s James Ryan was named the Players’ Player of the Year 2019 by his fellow players at the Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards ceremony.

Ryan beats off competition from Tadhg Beirne, Jack Carty and Peter O’Mahony to claim the award.

The 22-year-old has amassed 17 caps for his country since making his debut against the USA in 2017 and has become an increasingly influential figure in Irish camp. This was further acknowledged by his peers who also deemed him to be the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year ahead of Jordan Larmour and last year’s winner Jacob Stockdale.

On receiving his award Ryan said: "It’s always nice to win awards, but tonight has been particularly special in that I am being recognised by my teammates and opponents. I have many great memories of the season but there have also been plenty of learnings that I will take with me into the future. 

"A special word of thanks to my family who continue to guide me through what has been a fairly hectic rugby career to date!"

The Virgin Media Sport Supporters’ Player of the Year went to Connacht’s Jack Carty, who has enjoyed an outstanding season, winning his debut Irish cap in addition to becoming Connacht’s record points scorer.

The BNY Mellon Women’s XVs Player of the Year as voted by members of the national squad was presented to Ciara Griffin for several outstanding performances.

Meanwhile, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe claimed the iZest Marketing Women’s 7s Player of the Year for the third time, with Terry Kennedy taking home the AIB Corporate Banking Men’s 7s Player of the Year title. 

Former Ireland full-back Conor O’Shea was inducted into the BNY Mellon Hall of Fame.

Darren Cave, who will be retiring at the end of the season, was awarded the Vodafone Medal for Excellence, which rewards on-field effort combined with off-field commitment to the game. The Zurich Contribution to Irish Society Award meanwhile, was presented to former Leinster, Ireland and British & Irish Lions hooker Shane Byrne in recognition of his tireless charitable work.

Members of the public determined that Ireland’s victory over New Zealand in November was the Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Rugby Moment of the Year. Munster and Ireland’s Peter O’Mahony accepted the award on behalf of his teammates