Ireland 29-19 Wales

The Ireland Women's squad stepped up their preparations for the fast-approaching Six Nations Championship with a 29-19 triumph over Wales in an entertaining warm-up clash at Energia Park this afternoon.

Captain Ciara Griffin, Anna Caplice and Lauren Delany scored tries for Adam Griggs' side in the opening 40 minutes, before Laura Sheehan and Linda Djougang added their names to the scoresheet to stave off a spirited Wales fightback.

While seven uncapped players were included the 27-strong Ireland squad, teenager Enya Breen was the only newcomer to feature in the starting XV for this uncapped warm-up match.

This was a satisfying day's work for the Irish squad, who came close to scoring a sixth try in the closing minutes.

Their focus now turns to hosting England in the opening round of the Championship on Friday, 1 February.

Ireland: Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby); Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster), Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht); Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster); Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht), Leah Lyons (Harlequins), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster), Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster), Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht), Anna Caplice (Richmond), Juliet Short (Railway Union/Leinster), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)

Replacements: Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Emma Hooban (St. Mary's/Leinster), Anne Marie O'Hora (Galwegians/Connacht), Hannah O'Connor (Blackrock/Leinster), Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster), Claire Molloy (Wasps), Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster), Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster), Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht), Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster), Ailbhe Dowling (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster).