Ronan O'Gara will become Munster's most capped player when he starts for the province against Cardiff Blues in the Pro 12 game at Musgrave Park on Saturday.

O'Gara will take Peter Stringer's record when he pulls on the Munster jersey for the 234th time in a competitive match.

Just three players - skipper Doug Howlett, centre James Downey and scrum-half Conor Murray - retain their places in the Munster starting XV by comparison to the team that lined out against Ulster last Saturday.

Keith Earls returns from injury to partner Downey in the centre while CJ Stander also returns from injury to be named on the bench.

Meanwhile, eight Munster players, including current Development contracted JJ Hanrahan, Dave O'Callaghan and Luke O'Dea, have signed new contracts that keeps them with Munster until the end of the 2014/2015 season.

Simon Zebo, has penned a three-year-deal that sees him remain until at least the end of season 2015/2016.

James Coughlan, Mike Sherry, Dave Foley and Paddy Butler also commit their immediate future to Munster while Sean Dougall, in his first season with Munster, has also agreed a two year extension.

Munster XV to play Cardiff Blues: F Jones, D Howlett (capt), K Earls, J Downey, J Murphy, R O’Gara, C Murray, D Kilcoyne, M Sherry, S Archer, D Foley, D Ryan, T O’Donnell, S Dougall, J Coughlan.

Replacements: S Henry, W du Preez, BJ Botha, B Holland, CJ Stander, D Williams, I Keatley, C Laulal