Leinster's Isa Nacewa has been named as the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year by his fellow players at the ninth IRUPA Rugby Awards.

This is the first time an overseas player has won the top accolade.

Connacht’s Fionn Carr was also among those recognised when he was awarded the IRUPA Volkswagen Try of the Year for his 70- yard effort away to the Scarlets.

Speaking about his award, Nacewa said: 'This is the first time I’ve received an award in any country which has been voted for by my peers and I am overwhelmed to be honest that the other players in Ireland have chosen me. I’d like to thank all my team mates in Leinster who have made my job a lot easier.'

Nevin Spence of Ulster picked up the IRUPA Nature Valley Young Player of the Year for his try against Bath in the Heineken Cup and Leinster’s Richardt Strauss collected the IRUPA Nokia Unsung Hero Award. Joining Ireland’s heroes in the IRUPA Hall of Fame was Leinster legend, Malcolm O’Kelly.

Sean O’Brien was also awarded the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Supporters’ Player of the Year.