Ulster and Ireland winger Tommy Bowe has been voted the 2008 Irish Rugby Union Players' Player of the Year by his fellow players at the IRUPA Rugby Players Awards.

Leinster and Ireland's Rob Kearney was also amongst those honoured on the night when he was awarded the IRUPA Try of the Year for his try against Scotland at Croke Park.

Bowe, 24, was delighted to have won the players' award.

The Monaghan man said: After missing out on selection for the World Cup, the season seemed to just get better and better for me personally culminating in winning back my place in the Ireland team.

'This has topped it all off as it is the ultimate award in Ireland and I take great pleasure in winning it as it comes from the ones who really matter, the players.'

Niall Woods, CEO of the Irish Rugby Union Players Association, said: 'Winning one of these awards is the recognition players themselves want. The winners can take great pride in knowing that they have the total respect of those who they play with and against.

'Congratulations to all those nominated and in particular to Tommy, Rob, Andy (Dunne), Cian (Healy) and David (Humphreys) in winning what are the most sought after awards in Irish rugby.'

The awards were made in the presence of some of the game's most well-known names including Ireland and Lions captain Brian O'Driscoll, David Humphreys and former Ireland and Lions legends Keith Wood and Mick Galwey.