Bruff upset the applecart in the Division Three final at Templeville Road as they beat promoted Wanderers to lift their first ever AIB League title.

Tries in each half from hooker Cathal O’Regan and Brendan Deady saw Bruff, who are only in their third season in the league, take the silverware.

A 2,500-strong crowd were treated to a ding-dong battle with Cathal O’Regan’s 29th-minute try helping the Limerick men lead 13-9 at half-time.

Unbeaten since October, Wanderers lived off the boot of out-half Billy Tracey who landed four penalties. But Deady's intercept try, five minutes from time, sealed Bruff’s win.

Wanderers 12 - 18 Bruff, Templeville Road

Wanderers: Pens: Billy Tracey 4
Bruff: Tries: Cathal O’Regan, Brendan Deady; Con: Brian Cahill; Pens: Brian Cahill 2