Britain smashed their own world record in a time of 3:53.31 to end a 100-year wait for Olympic team pursuit gold here on Monday.

Denmark claimed the silver medal while New Zealand beat Oceania rivals and defending Olympic champions Australia to claim the bronze.

The British quartet of Bradley Wiggins, Ed Clancy, Paul Manning and Geraint Thomas produced a disciplined display of racing over 4000 metres to leave their Danish rivals with no chance.

Denmark began well but faded in the closing stages and eventually finished nearly seven seconds behind in a time of 4:00.04.

Wiggins, who successfully defended his individual pursuit crown on Saturday, now has three gold and six medals in total from three Games, confirming his status as Britain's most decorated Olympic cyclist.

The 27-year-old from London will aim for a third gold in Beijing when he pairs up with Mark Cavendish in Tuesday's Madison race.

Australia lost Athens Olympic champion Graeme Brown for the final four laps of their race against the Kiwis, who came over the line in an impressive time of 3:57.78.